Return to site

2016 CM50

Pinoy Crowned Asia Trail Master Champion at CM50

Local favorite, Manolito Divina won the 2016 Clark-Miyamit Falls Ultra which earned him his third Championship title for the race and gained the concluding performance points to win the 2016 ASIA TRAIL MASTER (ATM) CHAMPIONSHIP.  The local champion won the battle against a deep field of international runners which included ATM leader Norwegian Jan Nilsen and last year’s Champion Indonesia Arief Wizmoyono.

Divina (Philippines), Wizmoyono (Indonesia), Jorgensen (Denmark) and Nilsen (Norway) led the race at the start.  Divina edged everyone after the second checkpoint and hold on to it until he crossed the finish line an hour ahead of everyone in 10:21:52.  At the second checkpoint, local runners James Tellias and Louie Ganayan overtook other international runners and arrived ten minutes behind Divina. Wizmoyono, however, caught up with the two locals as they head to the peak with the goal of defending his title.  Nilsen, took the third spot again by the last twenty-five kilometres of the race.  Tellias (11:21:26), however, did not give up the podium spot.  He ended up crossing the finish line with Wizmoyono (11:21:25) to complete the podium line-up. 

In the women’s category, Sandi Abahan and Majo Liao were in a neck to neck battle until they reached the turnaround point at Miyamit Falls. Abahan edged Liao on their way down and kept the lead from there until crossing the finish line in 13:41:10 with Liao finishing second in 14:13:34. Cherry Chung has kept her third position and finished in 15:55:15 with just enough time for his flight back to Hongkong.

The race took off at 1m of Sunday, November 27 at the Clark Parade Grounds inside the Clark Freeport Zone.  The 6th staging of the race is considered as the toughest edition with some changes in the route that includes very steep ascents.  The humid weather at the start took a toll on most runners, including Beijing’s top runner Xu Xuitao who had to withdraw midway on the race.  Fog and mist welcomed the runners as they reached the peak with slight clearings for the mountain ranges to showcase its beauty and soothe the runner’s fatigue.  The iconic Miyamit Falls is always a beauty to behold with its cold water serving as a resting point for the runners before they head back.  The traverse along the river bed of Pasig-Potrero River, the connecting hills with Aeta Villages and Sacobia River is the last obstacle for the runners.  No one was spared of the mild heat of the sun  due to sparse clouds on their way back.

In the shorter distance 60K category, Joseph Gentoleo won the championship followed by Drexer Dino and Roland Wangwang.  In the distaff side, Prudence Chakas (Champion), Judith Besillo (2nd) and Chiara Tolentino (3rd) took the top three spots.

98 runners finished with a success rate of 76% (You may view results here.) . “This is the most competitive edition of the CM50”, says Atty. Jonnifer Lacanlale. We have seen trail running growth in the Philippines with each edition of CM50. Trail runners have learned to race smarter given the presence of some of the best international runners. More than anything, it is the camaraderie that the race brings that makes CM50 special. With locals, veteran runners and our CM50 crew deployed along the course, runners were assured they would be well taken cared off. As usual, everyone gathered and waited for the last runners to cross the finish line.”

Despite the inherent difficulties of CM50, most runners return each year to take on the challenges again.  This year, six runners were awarded a Hall of Fame award for finishing five consecutive editions.  Majo Liao, Koi Grey, Simon Miranda, Aldean Lim, George Javier and CJ Paran earned the 2016 Baddest Ass award.

Bad Ass Awardees from 2011-2016

Visit or for complete race results.

The race is powered by RACEYaya, the official event, registration and timing management partner and is endorsed by the Department of Tourism.

The race is supported by:

Brooks: Official Shoes

Simple Hydration: Official Hydration Bottle

Berocca: Official Supplement

Garmin:  Official Timing Watch

Squeezy Gel:  Official Race Nutrition Partner

Vita-Coco:  Official Hydration Partner

Naked Running Band:  Official Racing Gear

Fitbar: Official Snack Bar                                     

Gone Running Hong Kong

Tailwind Nutrition

Gurney Goo


Hotel and Venue Partners:

Sandbox, Alviera, Porac, Pampanga

Royce Hotel and Casino

The Villages at Clark

RACE BRIEFING: 1pm on Saturday, November 26, 2016 at the Royce Hotel and Casino

RACE START DATE AND TIME: 1:00am on Sunday, November 27, 2016

WEBSITE: (Finale Race)


INSTAGRAM: @cm50ultra


ACTIVE PINAS: Eva Soquena at the Miyamit Falls and Joreb Valdez at the FInish Line

PINOY TRAILS: Jose Ramizares along Pasig-Potrero River

TEAM MATINDI: Chek Mercado at Sacobia River

THE RUNNING REBEL: Lan Anlap at the Finish Line

ACE CASAR at Sacobia River







CNN Philippines

All Posts

Almost done…

We just sent you an email. Please click the link in the email to confirm your subscription!

OKSubscriptions powered by Strikingly